How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Facebook
The blocking feature is one of the most common features in almost all social media platforms. Each social media blocking feature is slightly different but addresses the same concern. And so, if you are a Facebook user, how do you know if someone blocked you on Facebook?
Well, keep reading to learn that!
There are several ways to know if someone blocked you on Facebook. Some are easy and complex, but you can still do it yourself. You don't need to be a social media guru to determine when someone has blocked you. Instead, it would be best if you ran some tests and research to see whether or not you're blocked.
And so, here are simple steps to tell if you've been blocked on Facebook.
How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Facebook
Getting blocked and being unfriended are similar things with similar signs. Therefore, to discover if you have been blocked, not unfriended, you will need to do the following few things.
- Method 1: Can't Find Them on Search
- Method 2: Can't Send Them a Message Via Facebook Messenger
- Method 3: Cannot View Their Profile Page
- Method 4: You Can't Tag Them in Any Posts
- Method 5: Not Found in Your Friends' List
- Method 6: No Longer Able to See Their Posts on Facebook
- Method 7: Not Able to Invite That Person to Groups or Events
Can't Find Them on Search
To find someone on Facebook, you will have to search for them using their name. Unfortunately, when the person you're searching for has blocked you, you won't be able to find their account. Their name will not be available on search results.
However, this method doesn't conclude that the person has blocked you. It is because not being able to find their name may be because of other reasons, such as deleting or deactivating their account.
So, how do you mitigate this fault?
To be sure, you will need to use another Facebook account to search for their name. You can create a new Facebook account or use your friend account to search. If you do this and you still fail to see their name, they have deleted or deactivated their account. But if their name appears on search results, you're blocked.
Can't Send Them a Message Via Facebook Messenger
If you have Facebook messenger, this is another tool that can help you be sure if you have been blocked.
For example, you searched using your account, and their name didn't appear on search results, but it did; try this when using another account. Send them a message and see if it goes through.
If you see an error, one of these might be the reason:
- The person has blocked you,
- They have deleted their profile, or
- They have unfriended you.
Cannot View Their Profile Page
It is usually an ideal method when you have a URL link to their profile. You can view their profile page by simply clicking or using that link. However, when a person has blocked, you won't be able to do that; instead, you will see an error like "The content is unavailable right now."
You Can't Tag Them in Any Posts
As you probably know, tagging your friends is common on Facebook. It can be a post you want to dedicate to them or a picture.
And so, if you can't be able to search and tag them, then your friend might have blocked you on Facebook.
Not Found in Your Friends' List
One of the common questions people ask is: Can you tell if someone blocked you on Facebook by simply checking your friend list?
The truth is, yes.
Now how do you do this, and does it give a definitive answer that you have been blocked?
To do this, you must log in to your Facebook account and click 'Friends' to navigate your friends list. After that, tap on 'All Friends' and search for their name by typing them in the search box.
If their name shows up, you're okay; if not, that is a sign that you might have been blocked. Remember, not seeing their name on your friends list doesn't mean they have blocked you. Instead, maybe they have deleted their account, which will show similar results. So, be aware of that before making any conclusion.
No Longer Able to See Their Posts on Facebook
If the person in question here is someone you usually interact with more often on Facebook, not seeing their post can be a good sign.
As we all know, when someone posts anything on Facebook, the post will likely appear in your Facebook feed. So, if you haven't seen any of their post in your feed for quite some time, then it might be a sign that they have chosen to block you.
To confirm if that's the case, use a couple of the options that we have already mentioned above.
However, it would help if you remembered that Facebook has privacy settings that allow a person to set who sees or doesn't see their posts. They can exclude you, but you're still friends on Facebook, so don't worry too much.
Not Able to Invite That Person to Groups or Events
Inviting someone that you think they have blocked you to a group or event on Facebook is another hack of checking whether they have blocked you.
To do this, simply create an event or group, then try inviting them by searching for their name. If you can't find their name and spell it correctly, you might be blocked, my friend.
To confirm this, use another account, do the same, and see if the results are the same.
How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger
By using Facebook messenger, you can tell if someone has been blocked on Facebook messenger. To do this, you will need to send them a text, and here are the steps to do so:
- Step 1.Start by opening your Facebook messenger app.
- Step 2.Find the person you want to send the message to and open the chat with that person.
Now if the message goes through, then you're not blocked. However, if it doesn't and you receive messages like, "This person isn't receiving messages at this time" and "Message Not Sent," you're blocked on messenger.
These messages can also mean the person has blocked you on Facebook or that they have deactivated their account. To confirm this, you need to use the above tips to find out who blocked you on Facebook.
Overall, blocking can be a bit harsh but beneficial most of the time. Managing social media apps and notifications be hectic, but with the right apps to help, you can handle it perfectly. Apps like AirDroid Parental Control are specifically designed to track, monitor, and block social media apps.
How the AirDroid App Can Help You Manage or Block Facebook
First, it is essential to note that the AirDroid Parental Control app is a well-designed app with an advanced algorithm that will help you do more than just block. In fact, with the application, you can block or track your family's social media use. You can know how often they visit Facebook and what type of content they interact with most. Through this, you can be able to ensure healthy digital habits for your kids as well as for you and your loved ones.
The features that help you keep track of their Facebook activities, limit the use of Facebook, or block it together include:
App & Screen Time Management
Ensure your kids have healthy digital habits by managing their app and screen times. With this feature, you can ensure your kids can't access Facebook at certain times, making them more productive and disciplined.
Know what your kids are doing on their devices with the help of this screen mirroring app. This feature ensures you know what they are up to in real-time and, more importantly, listen to or see what it's going on in their surroundings.
Daily Usage Report
Please get to know what your kids or spouse has been up to all day on their devices. This app has a feature that allows you to see everything they have been doing on their phone since morning. Which apps they have used, who they have called, notifications they have received, and more.
Sync App Notifications
Get notified when they receive notifications on their devices by simply using this app. This app lets you get notified in real time as long as the device is paired to your application, which will be installed on your phone.
Overall, there are various ways to know if someone blocked you on Facebook. All you need is to try a couple of them to be certain whether you have been blocked. And before concluding, it would be nice asking the person who you think has blocked you on Facebook whether they have done so.
Sometimes they might have done so by mistake or deactivated their account. So, check it out (if possible) to be sure.
Otherwise, if you're interested in managing your social media use across different devices, you can use the AirDroid app mentioned above.