You can see the block list on your profile settings. Go to your profile > settings > Contacts > Blocked contacts.
How to Block Someone on Skype? [Web & App]
Skype is a world-famous telecommunication application. It is the best-known software for VoIP-based communications. One can make quality videotelephone, file transferring, instant messaging, debt-based landline calls, and mobile telephones. You can connect people across the entire world.
- Part 1: How to Block Someone on Skype?
- Part 2: What Happens If You Block Someone on Skype?
- Part 3: How to Unblock on Skype?
- Part 4: How to Know If You Are Blocked on Skype?
- Bonus: How to Block Someone on Skype for Business?
- Part 6: Can You Block Skype on Your Kid's Phone?
- Part 7: FAQs about Blocking Someone on Skype
1How to Block Someone on Skype?
In this digital era, cybercrime and cyberbullying are increasing rapidly. Many hackers commit serious crimes through the internet. Cybercrime also happens through Skype, and the result can be dangerous. As soon as you find inappropriate people on Skype, immediately block them. Here is the guide in this regard.
1: How to Block Someone on Desktop Skype?
If you are a desktop user, then the below guide will be helpful to you. Whether you have Windows, Mac, or a laptop, this method will work for you.
Step 1: Open your Skype application on your desktop.
Step 2: From the Chats option or Contacts tab, select the targeted contact your want to block. Then right-click on the contact. You can see multiple options. Select View profile from the options. You can also open the View profile option by pressing the gear icon beside the profile name.
Step 3: After opening the profile, scroll down and select Block contact.
Step 4: Now tap on Block.
2: How to Block Someone on Skype Mobile?
If you are a mobile user, then you can follow the guide below:
Step 1: Open Skype on your mobile phone.
Step 2: Then go to Contacts and select the targeted contact name.
Step 3: Then tap again on the Profile name, and it will lead to View profile options. Scroll down and select Block contact.
Step 4: Again, tap Block for confirmation.
2What Happens If You Block Someone on Skype?
Skype Blocking is a privacy feature of the application. Though if you block someone, they won't notify you about it. But the other person can not see when you are available. Blocking someone on Skype means you are restricting someone from contacting you. They will be unable to contact you via chat or calls. You won't receive any communication from the person.
This feature can easily block spamming, annoying, or harassing contact. In addition, Skype allows you to report a person for abusive behaviour. If you report the abuse, Skype can stop them before making any problem escalates. So it is the most important feature in terms of your privacy. You can easily block someone with confidence. Thus, you can resist any cybercrime related to you.
3How to Unblock on Skype?
A blocked Skype contact is reversible. If you make up your mind to contact a person, you can easily unblock the person. Here is the guide:
Step 1: Open the Skype application and go to your profile. Besides your profile name, you can see three dots. Click on them.
Step 2: You can see a pop-up menu and select Settings. Now, scroll down and select Contacts.
Step 3: Besides the tab, you can see the Blocked contacts. Tap on it.
Step 4: Here you can see blocked contacts. Besides their name, you can find the unblock option. Tap on it to Unblock the person.
4How to Know If You Are Blocked on Skype?
Skype doesn’t notify you if you block someone. Similarly, you also don’t know if you are blocked on Skype. It is quite tricky to find out whether the person blocked you or not. But you can understand it in various ways. Blocking works when anyone wants to contact you. The blocked person can never communicate with you until you permit it. But you can follow some tricks to find out if you are blocked by someone.
- Firstly, try to send an instant message to the person, or you can make a direct voice or video call. If your message is not sending or your call is not connecting, that means the person blocked you. You are unable to communicate with the person through Skype.
- Moreover, you can find out if you are blocked or not; you can contact the person via another communication system and ask directly whether he/she blocked you. Hopefully, the person will tell you the truth.
- If you connect with other common communication systems, then it is nearly impossible to know whether you are blocked or not. But the observation works most time.
5How to Block Someone on Skype for Business?
Skype has another version for business purposes which is called Skype for Business. This application has some extra features for Business; otherwise, you will have all the features of regular Skype. There are both differences and similarities. However, the quality of the features of Skype business is helpful for business purposes.
Skype for Business integrated with other office apps. You can only block the person who is saved in your contact. So you need to save the contact in Outlook before blocking the person.
To Save Contacts to Outlook
- Select new items located in the upper-left corner. Then select contacts.
- Now, enter the phone number or email address you wish to block.
- Choose to save and close the window.
To Block Someone on Skype for Business:
Step 1: Go to Skype for Business and select contact, or you can use the search bar to find the contact name.
Step 2: Now, you need to highlight the contact name by pressing the Crtl key. Then tap or right-click to display. A drop-down menu will come up.
Step 3: You need to highlight the Change Privacy Setting.
Step 4: Select the blocked contact, and the pop-up menu will reveal your confirmation of the action.
Step 5: When you block the person, you can see a red stop icon next to it upon blocking.
Also, you can always unblock the person if it is necessary for you.
6Can You Block Skype on Your Kid's Phone?
You kids may use the Skype application as it is a great communication system. Since online platforms are not always safe for kids, they may find unfriendly people on Skype. They can engage with inappropriate people without knowing you. As a result, your kids may drop into a big problem. So you should always monitor your kid's phone. And the work is easy for you through the best monitoring app, AirDroid Parental Control.
It is the ultimate application that helps you to monitor your kids online. You can see the notifications, calls, and chats on Skype through your phone using the app. You can see what's going on on your kid's phone through screen mirroring in real-time. If you find anything unstable, you immediately block Skype from your phone, and your kids won't use Skype anymore. Furthermore, the app helps monitor the digital life of your kids.
To Download the App:
Step 1. Download the AirDroid Parental Control app from the Play Store or App Store.
Step 2. Sign in to the app and make the necessary settings.
Step 3. Then download the AirDroid Kids app to your kid's phone. Launce it and pair it with your phone using a secret code. Now, you can control your kid's phone and monitor it.
7FAQs about Blocking Someone on Skype
It is so easy to block someone on Skype. The guide is elaborated on in this article. However, whenever you block any person, they won’t be able to know about it. As Skype doesn’t notify the person if you block.
No, since Skype doesn’t notify the person you blocked, they don’t know about it.
Blocking is the only way to remove someone from Skype. If you have any disturbance from any person, you can remove it by blocking the person.
When you block someone, the person can not connect with you. But the earlier messages with the person will remain in your chat box and you can see them.
If you delete someone on Skype, you are removing the person temporarily. The person still can contact you. Or blocking someone means, the blocked person can never contact you.
Just hold or right-click on the person's name. You can see a delete option from the pop-up menu. And tap yes for confirmation.
If the person is not added to your contact list, you can see the block option right in the chat box. Click Block to do the action.
No, you can not track the online status if you are blocked by the person.
You need to tap on the block and add the contact name. Thus, you can able to block non-contacts.